The Man Booker Prize

The Man Booker Prize, previously known as the Booker Prize, is awarded annually with a prize of £50,000.

 The Man Booker Prize logo
Man Booker Prize

Considered by many to be the world's most important literary award, The Man Booker Prize rewards the very best novel of the year written by a citizen of the Commonwealth or the Republic of Ireland.


Recent Winners

 Milkman Anna Burns COVER SMALL

Winner of the Man Booker 2018


by Anna Burns

In this unnamed city, to be interesting is dangerous. Middle sister becomes the last thing she ever wanted to be. Milkman is a tale of gossip and hearsay, silence and deliberate deafness. It is the story of inaction with enormous consequences.





lincoln in the bardo

Winner of the Man Booker 2017

Lincoln in the Bardo

by George Saunders

This story focuses on a single night in the life of Abraham Lincoln: an actual moment in 1862 when the body of his 11-year-old son was laid to rest in a Washington cemetery. From this seed of historical truth, realism collides with the supernatural domain in a both hilarious and terrifying way.


the sellout

Winner of Man Booker 2016

The Sellout

by Paul  Beatty

A biting satire about a young man's isolated upbringing and race trial that sends him to the Supreme Court.

"Outrageous, hilarious and profound" Simon Schama, Financial Times.



a brief history of seven killings

Winner of the Man Booker 2015

A Brief History of Seven Killings

by Marlon James

This epic novel is a study of violence and politics and the musical legacy of Kingston of the 1970's. Inspired by the assassination attempt on Bob Marley this complex fictional history is told by 75 characters and voices.



The Narrow Road to the Deep North cover

Winner of the Man Booker 2014

The Narrow Road to the Deep North

by Richard Flanagan

A love story unfolds over half a century between a doctor and his uncle's wife. At the heart of the story is the construction of the now infamous Thailand-Burma railway in World War II.




The Luminaries cover

Winner of the Man Booker 2013

The Luminaries

by Eleanor Catton

An historical novel set in Hokitika during the 1860s. The Luminaries is a murder mystery on a grand scale.





Bring up the bodies cover

Winner of the Man Booker Prize 2012

Bring Up the Bodies

by Hilary Mantel

The sequel to her 2009 Man Booker Prize winner and New York Times bestseller Wolf Hall, this novel delves into the heart of Tudor history. Follow the dramatic trial of the Queen, Ann Boleyn, and her suitors for adultery and treason. 

Winner of the Man Booker Prize 2011
The Sense of an Ending by Julian Barnes

by Julian Barnes

Tony Webster and his clique first met Adrian Finn at school and they all swore to stay friends for life. Now Tony is retired. He's had a good life - but memory is imperfect, as a lawyer's letter is about to prove.

Winner of the Man Booker Prize 2010

The Finkler Question

by Howard Jacobson

Funny, furious, unflinching, this extraordinary novel is a scorching story of friendship and loss, exclusion and belonging, and the wisdom that comes with age.

Wolf Hall cover

Winner of the Man Booker Prize 2009

Wolf Hall

by Hilary Mantel

Henry VIII is on the throne, but has no heir and wants a divorce the Pope refuses to grant. Enter Oliver Cromwell: briber, charmer and bully, with a delicate and deadly expertise in manipulating people and events.

The Man Booker International Prize

The Man Booker International Prize

The Man Booker International Prize was established in 2005, biannually rewarding an author for a body of work originally written in any language so long as it is widely available in English.

From 2016, the prize became a translation prize, awarded annually for a single work of fiction, translated into English and published in the UK. Underlining the importance of translation, the £50,000 prize is divided equally between author and translator.


Recent Winners