Women's Fiction Prize Winner Announced

Monday 8 July 2013

American author A.M. Homes has won the 2013 Women’s Prize for Fiction (formerly known as The Orange Prize).

Homes won the £30,000 prize with her sixth novel May We Be Forgiven, an amusing, dark exploration of the tarnished American dream.

“This award is super special to me,” Homes said at the prize ceremony. “It’s the first actual book award I’ve won. I’ve always been in awe of this prize and I’ve always dreamed I would win it.”

The Chair of Judges, actress Miranda Richardson, said, “Our 2013 shortlist was exceptionally strong and our judges’ meeting was long and passionately argued, but in the end we agreed that May We Be Forgiven is a dazzling, original, viscerally funny black comedy – a subversion of the American dream." (The Telegraph, 5 June 2013).

Ms Richardson went on to say that this was a book the judges wanted to read again and give to their friends.

Other authors shortlisted for the award were:

Kate Atkinson – Life after Life

Barbara Kingsolver Flight Behavior (2010 winner – The Lacuna)

Hilary MantelBring up the Bodies

Maria SempleWhere’d You Go, Bernadette

Zadie SmithNW (2006 winner – On beauty)

Related Links

www.tasman.govt.nz newzealand.govt.nz