Prime Minister's Literary Award Winners Announced

Thursday 29 November 2012

Well-known poet Sam Hunt, novelist Albert Wendt and non-fiction writer Greg O'Brien have each received a Prime Minister's Award for Literary Achievement.

The award, which comes with a $60,000 prize for each recipient, recognises outstanding contributions to New Zealand literature.

In a Dominion Post interview, Hunt, 66, said the award was "humbling", as it recognised the value of literature, which was often not a lucrative field.

Previous winners of the awards include Janet Frame, Patricia Grace, Hone Tuwhare, Elizabeth Smither and Michael King.

Related Links