Ockham Shortlist Announced

Friday 8 March 2019

The shortlist for New Zealand's premier literary and non-fiction awards for 2019 has now been announced, and the winners will be revealed on May 14 at the Auckland Writers Festival.

The finalists include some of the country's biggest names in literature, from Lloyd Jones to Maurice Gee. There are 16 finalist across four categories - fiction, poetry, illustrated non-fiction and general non-fiction. 

Jenna Todd, New Zealand Book Awards Trustee says of the finalists ''Not only does the shortlist feature some of our best known writers - those with long and illustrious careers - but it also includes newcomers writing out of deep passion and engagement".

To find out who made it on to the shortlist, check out the link below. Then, if you want to read them, head on over to our website and start placing holds!

Related link:

www.tasman.govt.nz newzealand.govt.nz