Ockham NZ Book Awards 2017

Friday 2 June 2017

Catherine Chidgey’s fourth novel The Wish Child was the winner of the Acorn Foundation Fiction Prize at the Ockham NZ Book Awards 2017.

Set in Germany during World War II, The Wish Child was described by the judges as exposing the fragility and strength of humanity.

Catherine Chidgey is the author of a number of award winning novels and short stories including the 1998 novel In a Fishbone Church. She is also known for her work translating German language children's books into English.

Other Ockham NZ Book Award 2017 winners include:

The Royal Society Te Apārangi Award

for General Non-Fiction

Can you tolerate this?: personal essays

by Ashleigh Young

Illustrated Non-Fiction Award

A History of New Zealand Women

by Barbara Brookes

Poetry Award

Fits & Starts

by Andrew Johnston.

 Related Links:


www.tasman.govt.nz newzealand.govt.nz